Late Mornings 

I used to suck my teeth,

 roll my eyes 

At the thought of you…

Now I blink…I breathe 

Inhale, I’ve exhaled the hurt 

I can smile again…and mean it

I used to want to curse your name 

Sing songs of my sorrow 

Now I sometimes thank you 

Grateful for an unfortunate situation 

I’ve breathed 

In and out all the hurt 

I shine brighter these days baby…

Can you feel it?

All this magic 

blessed 

gifted 

wrapped up in olive skin 

Wild curls for a bow tie 

My spirit won’t accept less 

Cuz it don’t give less

Tell me baby do you feel it 

Like I feel it…

Feel all this good I feel 

– you’ve let go when truth settles in your body, steady

Leave a Reply

